How to upgrade the PHP version of your Bolt

Your site’s PHP version is defined per Bolt. This means that all sites on your Bolt will be using the same version of PHP. This in turn means that if you want to upgrade your site to a higher version of PHP, your other sites will be upgraded as well. So, in short, upgrading PHP would require all sites on your Bolt to upgrade.

We have covered all you need to know about upgrading the PHP version of your Bolt below: 

How to upgrade the PHP version of your site with the help of Servebolt Support

How to test a new PHP version of your site yourself

How to upgrade the PHP version of your site yourself


How to upgrade PHP version FAQ

Why should I upgrade the PHP version of my site?

Our recommendation is to always run the most modern stable version of PHP that your application supports. It is almost always faster, more secure and better maintained. It will also give your application the longest possible potential life, as opposed to choosing tech that is soon to be discontinued.
 

Will my site be down during a PHP upgrade, how long will it take and what will my users experience?

Your site won’t be down in the upgrade process, instead users may experience a maintenance mode page. The maintenance mode is a way of ensuring that no changes can be made to the site and its database while you’re performing the migration.

The page will be visible for as long as it takes to migrate your site from your old Bolt to your new Bolt. Smaller sites will typically only take 1-2 minutes to migrate, while larger sites will typically take 5-10 minutes to be migrated.

Does a PHP upgrade affect my live site or orders?

No, orders or any changes done to your site won’t be affected as we ensure maintenance mode is enabled during the migration-process. That is done to ensure that no orders are missed and that changes can’t be made to the site and its database while the migration is ongoing.

Do I need to update my DNS when doing a PHP upgrade?

Yes, updating DNS records for your domain(s) is always required when migrating from one Bolt to another. Separate Bolt’s run on different servers with different hostnames and IP addresses. 

I don’t have access to DNS, how can we solve that?

If you don’t directly have access to your DNS, then the Support Team can temporarily (14 days) reverse-proxy the traffic from your old Bolt to your new Bolt to ensure an immediate switch to the new Bolt.

Note: If DNS has not been updated within 14 days, then your site will go down after the 14 days are over as the old Bolt will be deleted.

I regret upgrading the PHP version, is it possible to revert?

Yes, it’s possible to revert a PHP upgrade within 30 days, just reach out to Servebolt Support and we’ll assist with that. 

Why do I need a new paid Bolt for upgrading my PHP version?

Having a Paid Bolt Plan is required to add domains and SSL to a site. If you are going to upgrade the PHP version of your Bolt, then Servebolt Support is happy to switch the Bolt subscription for you if you should want that instead.

On downgrades, credits will be issued for the period from the time of upgrade and until the end of the billing period. These credits are automatically recorded to your account, and will automatically be used for payment in the first coming future transaction. Credits are non-refundable and non-transferrable, but can be used for payments for any Servebolt service.

Give us your feedback on this article